This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

8.2 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
8.3
Comfort
7.9
Property location
8.9
Facilities
7.7
Staff
8.4
Value
7.9
Reviews
    Ole
    se
    7.9
    18 February 2018
    Quite nice hotel with walking distance to everything
    Better room when we stayed in the hotel two weeks earlier. No windows and poor lighting in the room made it dark.
    We stayed in the hotel at the beginning of the holiday. Very central. Walking distance to everything.
    David
    gb
    10
    16 February 2018
    I stayed initially on a business trip with colleagues. The hotel did everything they could to ensure that our work went smoothly. My wife then joined me for a few days' holiday. They upgraded us to an absolutely beautiful room.. Throughout the staff were excellent. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the city was an absolute pleasure. A real gem.
    Colin
    gb
    8.8
    16 February 2018
    Value, good, but could be great
    It still need to improve guest/staff standards
    The location and comfort Breakfast is nice paced and easy
    au
    7.9
    16 February 2018
    Lovely place to stay!
    Breakfast was disappointing, though the view was great.
    Loved the decor of the hotel and the location. Rooftop restaurant has great views!
    Jill
    ca
    8.8
    13 February 2018
    Beautiful old hotel in the heart of Stonetown but AC needs to a tune-up!
    The air conditioner wasn't working well when we were there so it made for a hot and stuffy room. We did ask about it and it did get fixed temporarily but eventually it gave out again.
    Our room was beautiful and very spacious. The furniture was very ornate and it felt like stepping back in time. The location was great as it was right in the middle of historic Stonetown and was within a short walk to all the major attractions. The rooftop restaurant was a great place to cool off and take in the views of the city.
    Val
    gb
    10
    13 February 2018
    Wonderfully friendly staff, who greeted us like long lost friends each day. Definitely felt very welcome. Big shout for Sara and Raymond who were very special. Thank you.
    de
    7.5
    6 February 2018
    Bathroom was in bad shape and smelled - everything else was good. The location is great and the staff is extremely friendly!
    Kurt
    tz
    8.3
    5 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Colin Marchington
    gb
    7.5
    28 January 2018
    Still can be so much better. .. but value none the less
    Food was not authentic... all dishes served for dinner were incorrect (I am a food and beverage specialist) Service is slow... but that's normal in Zanzibar Hot water very slow and drain overflowed badly when bath is emptied
    Breakfast Size of the rooms Bath Location is convenient
    Izabella
    hu
    10
    26 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sue
    au
    7.5
    24 January 2018
    A very spacious clean room, adequate for a 1 night stay with a 230am arrival from the airport
    Very poor breakfast choices. Although room was clean, the wooden surfaces were very old and damaged (maybe water/steam) and taps also seemed quite old. The shower hose had to be held by one hand and resulted in water all over the floor near the toilet.
    Very spacious rooms, staff very friendly and accommodating.
    tz
    10
    21 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Colin
    gb
    6.2
    18 January 2018
    Not quite there.....unfortunately
    Some staff simply don't listen.... or care? Laundry, washed and on hanger, was washed and stuffed creased in a small lined basket, i asked about this, was still charged, paperwork clearly states hanger....... and asked if i still have to pay for the same crumpled laundry that i gave to be returned crumpled, no attempt to rectify..... reception gave no decent response, or understanding or removed charge.... she didn't grasp it, F/O manager same, would ask GM he said... is it really GM's responsibility? This is basic customer satisfaction.... They have great baths, but it's actually an exercise to get a bath plug..... why advertise a bath, but not make them usable as a bath.....executive housekeeper didn't even understand! This place is a lovely building, quiet has 2 bars and restaurant but it still misses its potential... I've stayed here 3 times but with long gaps in between as i have always left feeling that it just missed the point...otherwise i would stay every week! I work in hospitality on Zanzibar, people ask my recommendations for a night in Stone Town, it's hard to not like this place, but they are let down by the simple..... If they did care, they had my number....i stayed 4 nights, no one properly apologised or has contacted me since, maybe they will only after reading this. Dissapointed
    Has large rooms, clean with good facilities, some good friendly staff Has baths which is rare in Zanzibar Breakfast and facilities are good, Spa next door Bathroom is good and clean Housekeeping service is good Turn down and spray service AC and fan, lounge area
    Jen
    de
    6.2
    16 January 2018
    More European 2 star standard....
    Bathrooms needs urgent reform....,no safe.
    Lovely staff, old decoration house and furniture,very centric.
    Alfred
    at
    6.2
    15 January 2018
    nice building but shabby bathrooms
    Building would need a lot of maintenance (wall black because of mold), urinal cake used to get rid of the smell, breakfast was poor
    Great top-roof-bar, beautiful building, food was good, stuff was friendly
    Marieke
    nl
    4.6
    11 January 2018
    15 min later check out was not possible. Breakfast was poot and things that should be warm were cold. The food was not nice but was not possible to change to only bed and breakfast anymore, when check in there was No Hello and welcome, No welcome drink either, did not know I had half board so first had to contact the manager, No internet working on my phone. Not very helpfull overall and compared to price you pay I would not go again
    There was 1 very nice girl in restaurant and 1 in housekeeping . Management was not helpful. Wonder Why they went in to hospitality branche. Nice thing was free water and possibilities of making tea/coffee in room
    Kadey
    za
    9.2
    7 January 2018
    Would have loved to stay in stone town longer as we only stayed a night. lovely place :)
    Shower was a bit broken and sprayed all over the place. Our aircon stopped working in the night and was making clanking sounds
    Location was great
    ani
    rw
    10
    7 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Priyanjali
    ae
    4.6
    5 January 2018
    The pictures dont do justice, place was small and dissapointing, bad lighting, lot of mosquitoes.
    Location was good.
    Alexander
    de
    9.6
    5 January 2018
    Relaxing stay in big and clean room in Stone Town.
    Variety of the breakfest and better coffee costs extra. Wifi in room didn`t work always properly.
    Very nice style of the rooms and very big. View from roof top. Cleanliness.
Loading reviews
Close